give me their strength

every day i pray to GOD to heal this affliction that i have
and i know there are so many people in much , much worse
condition than i .
but like most every day i get up and try-
( help yourself and i will help you )
and i know that much is true.
help me GOD as i struggle in this life , to try to be
a good man , a father , and a husband to my wife.
by thinking and writing i ease my pain
and since i’ve been doing this , my life has never
been the same.
i cannot help others if i cannot help myself
and on my problems i cannot dwell.
i’ve seen and read stories of people who have overcome
some with lost legs and have now begun to run.
hundreds of thousands of stories of people
who have been blessed , after being put through
a long and rigerous test.
GOD clear and strenghten my mind so that i can do the same
and write your poetry and praise and sing your name.
i may not have a physical disability the same as them
but i have so many words to write which never seem to end.
the stories are the stories that i write about who can
continue to get up and shout
” my GOD is my spirit and i will overcome
there are so many things that i’ve yet to be done.”
and with strength in their bones and love in their hearts
they finish what they did start.
(C) L .RAMS 081516

Leave a Reply

