you asked me for a poem

I didn’t know what to do when you asked me
To write a poem just for you.
Should I write the thoughts that I’m feeling inside
And should I put it into verse and rhyme?
Should I tell you what you would like to hear
Where your eyes get swollen and begin to tear .
Should I reach in and touch your inner soul
For all the world to behold.
Or should I show them what you want them to see
And leave your life as a mystery ?
Is it so hard to show what you feel inside
What is it that you try to hide ?
Unlike the weather you need not layers to cover your heart
For your warmth is your best part.
You do not need a poem “ to be you “
But to your heart you must be true.
© L , RAMS 110316

2 thoughts on “you asked me for a poem

  1. Pingback: you asked me for a poem | My Blog

Leave a Reply

